One month on the road…

Well, as of yesterday, I’ve been on the road for a month. I say on the road – it’s mostly been by rail, but you know what I mean. I would have written this post yesterday, but yesterday became a clusterfuck of very swift changes of plans and directions and thus I had neither the time nor ability to sit down and write. Here I am a day late instead. You should’ve expected it.

So I left on the 19th of July, and it’s now the 20th of August. I’ve been travelling around for a solid month now. Let’s recap on what’s happened so far.

I’ve visited the following places: Lyon, Clermont Ferrand, Grenoble, Genoa, Pisa, Florence, Lucca, Bologna, Ravenna, Ferrara, Venice, Ljubljana, Zagreb, and currently Sarajevo. That’s 14 cities in five countries so far. That’s broken my previous 13 cities in one trip record.

I’ve befriended 10 people, two of which I imagine keeping in active and regular contact with.

I’ve travelled a total of 1116 miles as the crow flies.

I’ve taken approximately 1400 photos, which is a little over 17Gbs of hard drive space.

I have finished reading six novels.

Hmm. Is it a little sad that I can only summarize an experience like this by using lists and tallies? Or, as in my previous post, Bell curve graphs? I guess it comes from having a scientist’s mind. I keep it in a jar. It doesn’t make for good empathic reading for you folks though, so let me try and expand and get in touch with my emotional side. This might get messy.

When I set out on my trip the first couple of places I stayed at were for four days each. During the first week or two it felt an awful lot like time was dragging. The whole “it’s only been a week? Feels like ten” effect. Now I’ve been going for a little longer it’s feeling very much the opposite, and it doesn’t seem like I’ve been away for more than a week or two. I wonder what the reason for that is, but perhaps it’s just that I’m hitting my stride. I’ve another few weeks left of treking around, then I board the yacht in Greece for the sailing stretch of the trip. After I disembark and fly to Athens I have no fucking idea what I’m going to do still. Fun fun.

What have I learned about myself? Introspection incoming.

I like the company of others and I hate people. There’ll be a whole detailed post upon this subject when I find the motivation to write it.

I’m certainly getting more confident in strange places, but that’s gotta be kind of a given at this stage.

I can walk a long-ass way with my pack on my back, and will usually elect to do so if the public transport is remotely complicated.

I am really uninventive when it comes to cooking dinner.

I’m not too sure what else I’ve learned about myself so far. I’m sure something will come up separately. And I think right now, that’ll do for the summary of the first month. Onwards.

Leave a Reply

