Bucket list…

The Travel Bucket List

So I read the above post over on The Busy Streets about one person trying to work out their travel bucket list. For those of you unfamiliar, a bucket list is a list of things you’d like to do or see before you die (from the term ‘kick the bucket’). I was encouraged to come up with my own travel bucket list.

While researching this article (it’s an article, alright?) I discovered that there’s actually a website for bucket lists on which people can list their own set of things they want to do, see, say or achieve before they die. I’m going to have to take some time looking around that site just out of interest, if nothing else. Take a look: Bucketlist.org

I actually have some form of a bucket list from a previous blog I had that is no longer maintained. I’m going to paste it here so we can review before coming up with a new list.

– Road-trip from Chicago to LA down Route 66, then from LA to Vancouver up the Pacific Coast highway.
– Take a trip around parts of Europe on the train.
– Own a boat or yacht of some description. And take it on sailing trips in the pacific.
– See people again. Specific ones, not just like, “oh look, a group of people.”
– Go back to Prague to sample some more of the best ice cream in the world from the shop just off the old town square.
– Own a house or property of some description with a pool room.
– Hike the Appalachian Trail, or at least a noteable part of it.

So let’s review.

In the last few weeks I’ve taken a trip from Chicago to LA, passing through some of the towns that are situated along Route 66, although I did most of it by train, so I don’t think it counts as a road trip. [~]
I’ve definitely taken a trip around parts of Europe by train. [√]
I spent a few weeks on a yacht as part of the crew sailing around the Greek islands. I’m going to count this as half. [~]
I haven’t seen the person in question again, because they’re being all silly and saying some nonsense about them living in a boring city or something. Tch. [x]
I’ve not been back to Prague yet to sample some of that delicious ice cream. [x]
I certainly don’t own a property of any kind, but I’m of the opinion that this particular article can be scrubbed from the list at this point. [–]
And nope, I have not hiked the Appalachian Trail just yet. [x]

So, so far I have achieved one of the things on that list, and kinda half done two of the others. The rest I’ve not managed or have been reconsidered. That’s not such great going. Though, I did only write that list out, maybe a year ago, two at most, so give a guy a chance.

And since that wasn’t a solely travel related list, I think a new one is in order.  *

Route 66, America

I would still very much like to drive Route 66 from Chicago to LA, in a car or possibly on a bike, stopping along the way. The sheer amount of Americana and nostalgia I feel for a time I didn’t live through is actually something I can’t adequately put into words.

Trans Siberian Railway, Russia and China

I have, since I was made aware of its existence, always wanted to travel the Trans-Siberian railway, which is one of the longest train journeys in the world, and, depending upon the route you choose, takes you from Moscow in Russia all the way across the continent to Beijing in China. There are a couple of other route options you could take – through Kazakhstan, for instance, or through China and back into Russia again to finish up in Vladivostok. Check the link above to see the routing options. I have a big thing for trains (for some reason I’ve yet to work out) and I think a journey of that magnitude would be epic, in the very real sense of the word. It was omitted from my current trip for financial and visa reasons, but it’s definitely on the list.

machu-picchuYep. It may be a touch cliché, but I think the sheer majesty of a site like Machu Picchu, especially given the history behind its construction and the civilisation that lived there definitely mean it makes my list.

Galápagos Islands, South America

Almost entirely just because of the ‘weird stuff’ factor, but also because of the beautiful and completely individual animal and plant life to be found. Gonna be an expensive one…

Appalachian Trail, America

I know wanting to hike over 2000 miles through an awful lot of forests is somewhat of a uphill battle (aha, ha), it’s still on my list. It’s going to be a problematic one for a lot of reasons – not least because it’d definitely take me more than three months and I can only get US visas for 90 days at a time. Hmm.

Pretty much anywhere on this list of the most alien landscapes on Earth.

Undoubtedly, there are many more things and places that could and do make my travel bucket list, but I think those ones are vast and unattainable enough to start off with.

Where would you like to go today?

* Disclaimer: None of the pictures used here were taken by me. They were found using Google image search and the copyrights belong to whichever site I found them on. Which wasn’t necessarily the site they link to.

7 thoughts on “Bucket list…

    • It might take a while, but I reckon there’s nothing too implausible on either of our lists. And you’re welcome – gave me an idea for something to write about, which is always welcomed.

  1. Looks like quite a bucket list! I just wrote a little about my trip along 66 between Chicago and St. Louis today. I heard a lot about the people that drive the whole way, although popular opinion seems to be that no one has enough time to really take it all in during one trip, so people tend to split it up into segments these days. I just went to Machu Picchu this year and highly recommend going – heard that they might further restrict how many people can visit per day in the next few years, so you should probably do that sooner rather than later. Galapagos already has that issue (and it’s way more expensive). Anyway, awesome list!

    • Thanks!

      Yeah, it’s a long way and a long time to commit. I guess it all depends on how long you’ve got. Segments seem like a good idea, but for someone from overseas, the cost of getting there kinda me want to do it all in one go.

      I did not know that about Machu Picchu, so thanks for the heads up. I’ll have to look into it, although I don’t think it’ll be for a few years until I get around to that one.

  2. The photo above of Machu Picchu is copyrighted by me and I would politely ask you to remove it unless you purchased it from istockphoto.com. Your disclaimer that “None of the pictures used here were taken by me. They were found using Google image search and the copyrights belong to whichever site I found them on. Which wasn’t necessarily the site they link to.” is not legally acceptable. You do not have permission to use someone’s photo without their permission just because you found it on another website. The website on which you found the photo may have leggally purchased rights to use that photo. Please remove my photo unless you would like to purchase rights to use it from me. Thank you, Dano

    • I have emailed you at the address you specified when you left the comment. Please reply and I’ll get this sorted as quick as I can for you. :)

Leave a Reply

