Yes Man…

If you haven’t already seen it, I highly suggest you all go and watch Yes Man immediately. Here, I’ll make it easy for you. Follow one of the links here.

Might want to have Ad-block running...

Click here to watch *cough*

The premise of the film is that Jim Carey’s character has to say ‘yes’ to anything and everything he’s presented with to try and excite his otherwise boring, dead-end life. Now on the face of it it may sound like a generic romantic comedy (which it is), but the chemistry between Carey and Deschanel coupled with a well-written script make it worth watching in its own right. The reason I like the film so much is the underlying theme and general lifestyle change it advocates.

At this stage you might be asking yourselves why I’m writing about a film on a travel blog, and you’d be right to do so. Allow me to educate you, dear readers.

Since I left on my trip, I have been trying to embrace as much as possible the tenets behind Yes Man, and being open and willing to do anything that presents itself. Now obviously this isn’t always possible for budgetary or practical reasons, but other than those it’s been going pretty well. This may sound cheesy, but screw you.

Case in point most recently: You’ll all remember the friend I hung out with through the Couchsurfing website a week or two ago who upon the first day of us meeting guided me gallivanting through LA’s downtown area, and without warning the second time we hung out took me hiking in the mountains looking for a mythical bridge.

Well, while I was in San Francisco (I’m back in Los Angeles now), we were chatting online and she asked when I was coming back to LA. I informed her that I’d be back on Thanksgiving, which is today, or Thursday for those of you who’re late to class. Her reply was, and I quote verbatim:

“oh! then you will be coming to a party with me on friday”

“Will I?”

“yep. you’re coming. bring something.”

And then right at the end of the conversation…

“OH. bring a swim suit too”

“… wat. Somewhat important and randomly tagged on the end there.”

“not really. its an afterthought. we party hard. we are zesty.”

“And that somehow involves swimsuits?”

So that’s the story of how I was ‘invited’ to a party tomorrow night somewhere in Los Angeles, with some people I don’t know, that may or may not involve the need for swim shorts.

“Yes.”

Leave a Reply

